Category: Chief Investigators

  • Professor Vincent Thijs

    MD (1995), PhD (Kul, 2004), FRACP (2016) Professor Thijs is an academic stroke neurologist with a research interest in the entire continuum of stroke care including primary and secondary prevention, acute treatment and recovery.

  • Professor Caleb Ferguson

    BSc (Nursing), MHlth, PhD Professor of Nursing, School of Nursing (Chronic & Complex Care), Academic Director, Centre for Chronic & Complex Care Research, Blacktown Hospital, Western Sydney Local Health District & School of Nursing, Faculty of Science, Medicine, & Health, University of Wollongong.

  • Professor Chris Bladin

    BSc (1978), MBBS (1984), MD (1999), FRACP, FAHA Professor Bladin is currently the Director of Stroke, and Director of the Victorian Stroke Telemedicine service, Ambulance Victoria, Adjunct Professor at Monash University, and Honorary Professor in the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health.

  • Dr Kate Hayward

    PhD (2013), Grad Cert Research Commercialisation (2012), BPhty Hons (2008) Dr Hayward is a Senior Research Fellow in Stroke Recovery at the University of Melbourne and Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health. Dr Hayward is a current Dame Kate Campbell Fellow, the only physiotherapist Driving Research Momentum Fellow and was previously an NHMRC Neil…

  • Professor Bruce Campbell

    MBBS (Hons) (2002), BMedSc (2002), PhD (2012), FRACP, FAHMS Professor of Neurology, University of Melbourne, and Head of Neurology and Stroke at the Royal Melbourne Hospital (RMH). Professorial Fellow, Department of Medicine (RMH) at the University of Melbourne (continuing position, January 2019–) and Honorary Professorial Fellow, The Florey Institute (2019–). Professor Campbell is a Victorian…

  • Professor Coralie English

    BAppSci (Physiotherapy; 1996) PhD (Health Sciences; 2006) Professor of Physiotherapy and Deputy Head of School, Research and Research Training, School of Health Sciences, University of Newcastle. Deputy Director, Heart and Stroke Program, Hunter Medical Research Institute. Other appointments include Non-Executive Director and Chair Research Advisory Committee, Stroke Foundation Australia.

  • Professor Dominique Cadilhac

    PhD (2008), MPH (2001), BN 1995 Professor (Research) and Head of Translational Public Health: Stroke and Ageing Research, Department of Medicine, School of Clinical Sciences, Monash University (Jan 2018-present); Head of Public Health, Stroke Division – Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health (2011-present); NHMRC Senior Research Fellow (2019-present); Honorary Professor: University of Melbourne, Deakin…

  • Professor Leonid Churilov

    BScHons (1993), PhD (1998), FAHMS Professor of Biostatistics, Melbourne Medical School, University of Melbourne (2019 onwards) and Honorary Professorial Fellow, Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health (2019 onwards). Previously Senior Principal Research Fellow and Head, Biostatistics and Decision Analysis, Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health (2007-2019).

  • Professor Sandy Middleton

    RN, ICU Cert BAppSc (Nursing), MN, PhD, FACN, FAAN, FAHMS Professor of Nursing and Director of the Nursing Research Institute (NRI), Australian Catholic University, St Vincent’s Health Network Sydney and St Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne. Professor Middleton is also Director of the Maridulu Budyari Gumal (Sydney Partnership for Health, Education, Research and Enterprise; SPHERE) Nursing and…

  • Professor Richard Lindley

    MBBS, MD, FRCP(Edin), FRACP Professor Lindley leads the Stroke Trials CRE. He holds the Chair of Geriatric Medicine at Westmead Clinical School, University of Sydney and is the Deputy Head of School, Sydney Medical School (2021–), and a consultant in Geriatric Medicine at Blacktown Hospital, Sydney. He holds an Honorary Professorial Fellow appointment at the…